Home News

November 12, 2012 Posted November 14, 2012

Citizens of St. Catharines get Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal

By Edward Akinwunmi

Distinguished citizens of St. Catharines riding have been honored with the Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Medal. The Member of Parliament for the riding, Rick Dykstra presented the medals.

The recipients were Anthony Percival, Barbara Munroe, Charles Johnston, Craig William Smith, Daniel Kojo Frye, Del Vanderburgh, Derryk Fleming, Donna Henderson, Frank Parkhouse, George Elliot Irvine, Graham Bettes, Honourary Colonel Ian Purdie, Joseph G. Caruso, Kenneth Frank Kinnear and Leon Skorski.

Others were Master Corporal Clarence Wray, Paul V. Daoust, Robert Joseph Colquhoun, Terry Brauweiler, Wendy Stuart Forbes Ross, William Marshall, William Payne and Kathleen Carins.

Del Vanderburgh who served Canada during World War 11 in Germany, Belgium and Holland had been speaking in schools for over 15 years educating students about horrors of war and the importance of fighting for freedom.

Leon Skorski was recognized for his leadership in the Polish Community and for his contribution to multiculturalism. Frank Parkhouse served the Niagara Regional Police for over 39 years. He is involved in numerous charitable organizations including one that feeds children in Nicaragua.

Donna Henderson has been volunteering for over 31 years and raised money through poppy sales for the legion.

Daniel Kodjo Frye was recognized for his volunteer work in the community including serving as a Director of the Folk Arts Council, Niagara Police Community Policing Association and the African Association of Niagara. He led the African Association of Niagara on a recent fundraising to assist famine relief in East Africa.

"I feel humbled that someone in the community would recognize my contribution and nominate me for the award," said Daniel Frye in an interview.

MP Rick Dykstra said the good attendance at the event showed the place the monarchy still occupied in the hearts of many Canadians.

“The medals do mean a lot to the individuals who have won them. They are indeed an honor and I congratulate each and every one of you for it,” he said.

Click for mephoto

Mosaic Edition Webcast